Adventure Journal: Introduction Proposition

As an avid /r/gamedeals watcher, I’ve picked up a number of titles this year during various seasonally themed sales, holiday sales, bundles, and random check-out-my-online-store sales. While most of them have been standard fare RPGs, action games, shooters, and MMOs, I’ve also started picking up more games in the point-and-click adventure genre. I’ve actually got formidable selection at the moment:

Of course, my interest was piqued after playing Telltale’s The Walking Dead, which is one of the best games I’ve ever played. I imagine I’ll write a Cheap Review for it eventually, even though almost every dedicated gamer probably already played it a year ago. Also, Ragnar Tornquist’s Kickstarter for Dreamfall Chapters got my attention. Tornqist was one of the geniuses behind The Secret World and as such I’d follow him through metaphorical Hell (see Overlook Motel of Savage Coast, Maine). I had never heard of Dreamfall or The Longest Journey before and I was surprised to hear so many random internet voices hail them as their all-time favorite games. Thus, when I saw them for sale on GOG, I grabbed them. Soon after, other acquisitions followed.

I do not intend to do straight forward critiques of these games because God knows I haven’t worked up the writing chops to make it worth reading. However, I do want provide some impressions that my readers can reference when they’re considering buying these games or when they’ve played them and they’re settling their conclusions about their experience with the games. I may even edit and get some gameplay video up just to quickly deliver some thoughts that don’t require punctuation.

tlj

I don’t know exactly what to expect since before The Walking Dead the last adventure games I played were King’s Quest VI and Noctropolis. I’m hoping compelling stories, satisfying problem-solving, and simplicity. I’m going to start of with The Longest Journey and figure out where I should go from there. I’m still playing TSW, Vampire The Masquerade Bloodlines, Crysis, GTA IV, Mount & Blade Warband, and trying get myself into Star Trek Online and back to the Neverwinter Foundry; so clearly these adventure games aren’t the only games on my docket. Nevertheless, I’m going to install them and force them into my rotation.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

-casualslacks

Leave a Reply

